Council elections are held every four years on the fourth Saturday in October. The next general elections will be held in October 2020. On May 15th 2020, the Minister for Local Government announced that all councils will conduct their elections by post.  

The conduct of council elections is regulated by the Local Government Act 2020 and the Local Government (Electoral) Regulations 2020. The management of the election process is undertaken by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) on Manningham’s behalf.

The VEC has opened its Election Office at Office 7 The Point Corporate Centre, 600 Doncaster Road, Doncaster.  The Election Manager for the 2020 elections is Mr Brian Kelly.  Enquiries about the electoral process should be directed to the Election Office on 8619 1440.

We ask you to check this page regularly as new information comes to hand.

    New electoral structure and ward boundaries

    The City of Manningham is currently divided into three wards with three Councillors representing each ward. With the recent commencement of the Local Government Act 2020, the Minister for Local Government has determined a new electoral structure for the City of Manningham.

    Manningham’s new electoral structure will be divided into nine wards with one Councillor representing each ward. Following consultation with the community, Manningham proposed new names for the nine new wards. The electoral structure and new ward names were gazetted by the Minister on 9 July 2020. 

    The new wards are: Bolin Ward, Currawong Ward, Manna Ward, Ruffey Ward, Schramm Ward, Tullamore Ward, Waldau Ward, Westerfolds Ward and Yarra Ward.  Detailed maps of each ward are linked below.

    This change will come into effect for the Council elections in October 2020.

    Map showing the 9 new ward boundaries of Manningham

    Additional information on our new ward structure:

    Election Period Policy

    Council has adopted an Election Period Policy as required by section 69 of the Local Government Act 2020 to provide guidance to Councillors and Council Officers in the lead up to, and during the election period for the 2020 elections, which commences on 22 September 2020.

    For more information you can view our policy

    Related files

    Was this helpful?
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Why wasn't this information helpful?

    • Not enough information
    • Too much information
    • Confusing
    • I couldn't find what I was looking for
    • Incorrect
    • Other
    Limit to 250 characters.