Manningham Victorian Ceramic Art Award 2017

The biennial Manningham Victorian Ceramic Art Award and exhibition brings to Manningham some of the finest contemporary Victorian ceramic art. The Award supports studio ceramic artists and celebrates both the great diversity of work being produced across the state and the special place ceramics have in Manningham’s history.

Manningham Art Gallery is pleased to announce that this year's finalists are:

Sue Acheson

Jane Annois

Peter Austin

Robert Barron

Pie Bolton

Dominic Bramall-White

Adriana Christianson

Timothy Clarkson

Kris Coad

Andrei Davidoff

Magdalena Dmowska

Ingrid Dusselberg

Phil Elson

Alexander Esenarro Santafe

Anne Fleming

Bridget Foley

Neville French

Ann-Maree Gentile

Eva Glac

Richard Greenacre and Mechelle Shooter

Irene Grishin Selzer

Rowena Hannan

Titania Henderson

Fiona Hiscock

Marianne Huhn

Wendy Jagger

Sally Kent

Brian Keyte

Lene Kuhl Jakobsen

Louise Kyriakou

Ben Landau and Lucile Sciallano

Tina Lee

John Maude

Lilach Mileikowski

Gay Mosby

Yoko Ozawa

Kirsten Perry

Chris Pittard

Jessie Pittard

Mary-Lou Pittard

Christopher Plumridge

Kaye Poulton

David Ray

Natalie Ryan

Jane Sawyer

Ted Secombe

Tara Shackell

Dean Smith

Vipoo Srivilasa

Cyrus Tang

Philippa A Taylor

Dawn Vachon

Sally Walk

Lesley Walsh

Kerrie Warren

Barry Wemyss

Graeme Wilkie

Kirk Winter

Raymond Young

Daniela Zimmermann


To read more about the 2017 finalists, download the Icon for application/pdf 2017 Manningham Victorian Ceramic Art Award Catalogue (1.55 MB)

This year’s award will be judged by Janet DeBoos.

Emeritus Fellow of the Australian National University School of Art, DeBoos began her ceramics career in Sydney in the early 1970s, practising as well as teaching at several TAFE colleges over the decade.

As an artist, she has exhibited regularly since 1976, both in Australia and overseas and her work is represented in numerous public collections including the National Gallery of Australia, the Powerhouse Museum, the National Museum of China, Beijing, and the Musée Royal de Mariemont, Belgium. Having previously judged a number of ceramics competitions including the Gold Coast Ceramic Award, the 2016 Portage Ceramic Awards (New Zealand) and the South African National Ceramics Award, DeBoos brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the judging of this year’s Manningham Victorian Ceramic Art Award.

The winners of the $10,000 Major Prize and up to $4,000 Merit Award Acquisitions will be announced at the exhibition opening on Wednesday 16 August, 6.00 pm to 8.00 pm. RSVP to

Find out more at Manningham Victorian Ceramic Art Awards.

Manningham Art Gallery logo

Located at the entrance to Manningham City Square, Manningham Art Gallery presents a diverse range of contemporary art exhibitions and related public programs throughout the year. Learn more about the Manningham Art Gallery.

Gallery Hours

Tuesday to Saturday, 11.00 am - 5.00 pm
Free admission

Wednesday 16 August 2017, 11.00 am to Saturday 23 September 2017, 5.00 pm
Manningham Art Gallery
687 Doncaster Road
Doncaster VIC 3108