Established in 2009, the Manningham Victorian Ceramic Art Award supports Victorian studio ceramics and acknowledges the special place ceramics have in the Manningham region. 

The biennial acquisitive award and accompanying exhibition celebrates the best in contemporary Victorian ceramic art practice from across the state. Works acquired through the award form part of the Manningham Art Collection and are subsequently displayed in public buildings throughout the municipality, including Manningham Art Gallery exhibitions.

Manningham Victorian Ceramic Art Award 2019

$10,000 Major Prize
$4,000 in General Acquisitions

Entries are no longer being accepted for this year's award. We will be contacting all entrants to confirm entry details between Monday 24 June and Wednesday 26 June.

If you have submitted an entry and have a questions about your application or payment, please contact Manningham Art Gallery on 9840 9367.

2019 Judge: Eva Czernis-Ryl

Eva is a curator at Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences in Sydney (MAAS) who has published, lectured and curated exhibitions in the areas of decorative arts and design from the 18th century to the present. At MAAS she is responsible for a range of collecting fields including ceramics, glass, metalwork, textiles and jewellery. Eva has particular interest in revealing connections between applied and fine arts, craft, design, science and technology.  Her most recent exhibitions are Recollect: Ceramics and Fantastical Worlds and A Fine Possession: Jewellery and Identity which won the 2015 IMAGinE Award for best large museum exhibition.

Key Dates:

Entries Close: 5.00pm Friday 21 June 2019
Selection Notification: Wednesday 10 July 2019
Delivery of Finalists' Work: Monday 29 July to Friday 2 August 2019
Finalists' Exhibition Opening: Wednesday 14 August 2019, 6.00pm to 8.00pm
Finalists' Exhibition Dates: Wednesday 14 August to Saturday 14 September 2019

Past Winners and Acquisitions

The Manningham Art Collection includes almost thirty ceramic artworks acquired through the Award since 2009, representing some of the best contemporary ceramic work in Victoria. View a full list of past winners and acquisitions.