

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

MINUTES

Date: Thursday, 3 November 2022

Time: 7:00pm

Location: Council Chamber, Civic Centre

699 Doncaster Road, Doncaster

INDEX

1	COMMENCEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS	2
2	APOLOGIES	2
3	MAYORAL TERM	2
4	ELECTION OF MAYOR	3
5	CONGRATULATORY MOTION	3
6	RESPONSE FROM NEWLY ELECTED MAYOR	3
7	ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR	4
8	ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF OUTGOING MAYOR	4
9	CLOSE OF MEETING	4

MANNINGHAM CITY COUNCIL MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 3 NOVEMBER 2022 AT 7:00PM IN COUNCIL CHAMBER, CIVIC CENTRE 699 DONCASTER ROAD, DONCASTER

The meeting commenced at 7:00pm.

PRESENT: Councillor Anna Chen

Councillor Andrew Conlon Councillor Deirdre Diamante Councillor Geoff Gough Councillor Michelle Kleinert Councillor Carli Lange Councillor Tomas Lightbody Councillor Laura Mayne Councillor Stephen Mayne

OFFICERS PRESENT: Chief Executive Officer, Mr Andrew Day

Director City Services, Ms Rachelle Quattrocchi

Director Experience and Capability, Ms Kerryn Paterson Acting Director City Planning and Community, Mr Niall

Sheehy

Chief Legal and Governance Officer, Mr Andrew McMaster

Chief Financial Officer, Mr Jon Gorst

1 COMMENCEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS

The Chief Executive Officer opened the meeting and commenced proceedings by reading the prayer and statements of acknowledgment.

2 APOLOGIES

There were no apologies.

3 MAYORAL TERM

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

MOVED: CR GEOFF GOUGH

SECONDED: CR MICHELLE KLEINERT

That Council determine the Mayor be elected for a one year term.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4 ELECTION OF MAYOR

The election of the Mayor was facilitated by the Chief Executive Officer pursuant to section 25(3) of the *Local Government Act 2020* and in accordance with Council's Governance Rules.

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Mayor for 2022-2023.

Cr Carli Lange nominated and Cr Stephen Mayne seconded the nomination of Cr Deirdre Diamante.

There were no further nominations and the Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Deirdre Diamante duly elected as Mayor for 2022-2023.

The Mayor was robed and enchained. The Mayor assumed the Chair.

5 CONGRATULATORY MOTION

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

MOVED: CR CARLI LANGE SECONDED: CR STEPHEN MAYNE

On behalf of Council and the residents of the municipality, congratulations be extended to Cr Deirdre Diamante on being elected as Mayor of Manningham City Council.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Councillors Lange, S Mayne, Conlon, Chen and Kleinert congratulated Cr Diamante on her election as Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer congratulated the Mayor on behalf of the organisation.

6 RESPONSE FROM NEWLY ELECTED MAYOR

The newly elected Mayor Councillor Diamante responded to Council on her appointment as Mayor for 2022-23.

7 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The election of the Deputy Mayor was undertaken pursuant to section 27 of the *Local Government Act 2020* and in accordance with Council's Governance Rules.

The Mayor called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for 2022-2023.

Cr Anna Chen nominated and Cr Laura Mayne seconded the nomination of Cr Tomas Lightbody.

As there were no further nominations, the Mayor declared Cr Tomas Lightbody duly elected as Deputy Mayor for 2022-2023.

8 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF OUTGOING MAYOR

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

MOVED: CR GEOFF GOUGH SECONDED: CR TOMAS LIGHTBODY

On behalf of Council and the residents of the municipality, a motion of appreciation be recorded to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Michelle Kleinert.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Councillors Gough, Lightbody, L Mayne and Diamante acknowledged and thanked the outgoing Mayor, Cr Michelle Kleinert.

The Chief Executive Officer thanked the outgoing Mayor on behalf of the organisation and presented her with a gavel and gift.

The outgoing Mayor Cr Kleinert responded.

9 CLOSE OF MEETING

The Mayor declared the meeting closed.

The meeting concluded at 7:47pm

Chairperson
CONFIRMED THIS 13 DECEMBER 2022