Manningham Civic Award winners

The Manningham Civic Awards recognise residents who’ve made exceptional contributions to the Manningham community through volunteer, unpaid or paid work.

Citizen of the Year

Manningham's Citizen of the Year award goes to a resident whose outstanding contributions have improved the lives of our local community. Their contributions demonstrate a long-term commitment to community service, community innovation, philanthropy or volunteer work.

Citizen of the Year 2022 – Margaret Kelly

Margaret has dedicated over 25 years of community service and voluntary work in Warrandyte. As a committee member and President of the Warrandyte Historical Society, Margaret has had an exceptionally positive impact on the preservation of Warrandyte’s history and has been involved in various committees for sporting groups, kinder and school councils. 

Citizen of the Year Honour Roll
2022 Margaret Kelly

Ian Goldsmith

2019 Hardy Shum
2018 Geoff Roberts

Young Citizen of the Year

This award recognises the outstanding contribution made by a young Manningham resident to improve our local community. This can be demonstrated through leadership qualities, inspiring others through action or being a positive role model. 

Young Citizen of the Year 2022 – Stephanie Martinez

Stephanie is acknowledged for her exceptional community contributions, which include being involved in and leading local projects that support vulnerable community members and participating in local working groups and committees. Stephanie exemplifies the next generation of change with a focus on community wellbeing, equity and justice for all.

Young Citizen of the Year Honour Roll
2022 Stephanie Martinez

Sulaymaan Hafeez

2019 Zoe Petropoulos
2018 Jade Chan
Mayor, Councillor Kleinert holding the award with three of Varvara's family members

Doreen Stoves AM PSM JP Volunteer of the Year

This award recognises the outstanding contribution made by a volunteer in the Manningham community. It highlights the contributions made by the quiet achievers, who often work behind the scenes to build a stronger and more caring society. You can nominate someone for any volunteer contribution made in the areas of community service, civic engagement, environment, sport, the arts, education, business or advocacy.

Doreen Stoves AM PSM JP Volunteer of the Year 2022 – Varvara Ioannou

Varvara is an inspiring volunteer leader in our community, sharing her professional knowledge and experience.  Varvara encourages others to volunteer their time to create an inclusive community.  She has a life-long commitment to creating inclusive schools, universities, workplaces, community organisations and communities.


Doreen Stoves Volunteer of the Year Honour Roll

Varvara Ioannou


Patricia Wheeler

2019 Kathy Monley
2018 Teresa Clarke
Michelle Kleinert holding the award with two representatives of CareNet

Community Organisation of the Year Award

This award recognises community organisations, clubs or groups who have gone ‘above and beyond’ to improve the lives of the Manningham community. Nominees must be not for profit community organisations who’ve made a tangible difference to diversity, acceptance and tolerance, community spirit and social connectedness in the Manningham community.

Community groups may be nominated for a specific project undertaken in the last 12 months that demonstrates a positive impact made to the Manningham community.

Community Organisation of the Year Award 2022 - CareNet Program

The CareNet program is acknowledged for providing much needed food relief to our community. Their volunteers are friendly and supportive. CareNet has overcome barriers to food accessibility, making food relief easy and available in a safe place for those in need.

Community Organisation of the Year Award Honour Roll

CareNet Program


Manningham State Emergency Service

2019 Doncaster All Abilities Basketball
2018 Women’s Friendship Group

Sports Volunteer of the Year

This award recognises individuals who demonstrate excellence in the sporting arena and/or displays exemplary leadership in the Manningham sporting community. This award is for people who inspire others, encourage participation and embody the principles of sportsmanship and fair play. 

Along with those who play sport, you can nominate anyone who contributes to Manningham’s sporting community off the field.  This includes coaches, referees/ umpires, organisers, volunteers and officials. If you’d like to nominate someone for an achievement made through a paid role, please demonstrate how they’ve contributed to the Manningham community in addition to their expected duties.

Sports Volunteer of the Year 2022 - Vince Montuoro

Vince is known for his work in establishing and growing football opportunities for children across Manningham. His enthusiasm about using football as a vehicle to get kids active, develop better people skills and facilitate personal growth has helped kids across the community.

Sports Volunteer of the Year Honour Roll

Vince Montuoro


Roland Frasca

2019 Alan Duffus
2018 Alf Molinaro