State Government's New Managing Residential Development Advisory Committee - submissions deadline extended

8 Mar 2016
Well Governed Council

The Minister for Planning has appointed an advisory committee to report on the application of zones that provide for residential development in metropolitan Melbourne and the four regional cities of Bendigo, Ballarat, Geelong and Latrobe, having regard to managing growth, proximity to transport and jobs, housing affordability and diversity, and is seeking submissions from the community.

The Advisory Committee will be supported by the Managing Residential Development Taskforce comprising staff from the Department of Environment, Land Water and Planning (DELWP). 

The Taskforce has prepared Residential Zones State of Play Reports for each metropolitan subregion and a combined report for the regional cities of Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong and Latrobe. Interested parties may wish to consider the Residential State of Play Reports before making a submission. Information including brochures about the residential zones and key dates are available from the Manningham Civic Centre, 699 Doncaster Road, Doncaster.

Submissions can be made on the DELWP website until 5.00 pm Monday 14 March 2016

Manningham Council will be making a submission, which will be available for viewing on Council’s website from 24 March 2016; as part of the March Council Meeting Agenda. The meeting agenda is also made available in Manningham libraries and at the Manningham Civic Centre, 699 Doncaster Road, Doncaster.

Further information about the Advisory Committee, including its Terms of Reference, how to make a submission and Frequently Asked Questions is available at 

The Advisory Committee comprises Kathy Mitchell (Chair), Michael Kirsch (Deputy Chair), Debra Butcher, Sarah Carlisle, Peter Gaschk, Sarah McDonald, Rachael O'Neill and John Riley. Member biographies are available on the DELWP website.

Questions about the Advisory Committee process can be directed to Andrea Harwood, Senior Project Officer at Planning Panels Victoria on (03) 8392 6744 or